Crock Pot Chicken Drumsticks

I woke up today with the desire to cook something summery, so I surfed Pinterest for some inspiration. I’m in love with our slow cooker, so it wasn’t long before I decided to make some BBQ drumsticks by simmering them in there for a while. As usual, I sifted through a bunch of recipes and sort of conflated some of them until it felt right. The results were so yummy, I was amazed. You can really taste all the seasonings, and the meat just falls apart when you touch it. First time making drumsticks, and I nailed it!

FullSizeRender-3
They looked good enough to eat before they even started cooking.

Here’s what you’ll need to season them:

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp paprika

1 tsp dry mustard

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

salt and pepper

Put the whole shebang in a large baggie and shake ‘n bake! I love seasoning things and experimenting with different combos, so I must have spent at least five minutes just smelling this after I had shaken it up. I made a dozen drumsticks, so I found that I had to double up on the spice measurements.

Place the chicken in a slow cooker on HIGH for three hours. Then remove all the juices (I did this with a baster) and pour an entire bottle of BBQ sauce on top. Use any kind you fancy; I used Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey BBQ. Cook an additional 30 minutes, and voila! The slow cooker did all the hard work, but it can be our secret.

FullSizeRender
Gatty boy kindly requests all of the chicken. All of it.

I whipped up some parmesan corn and baked a pack of Pillsbury dinner rolls to complete the meal. Matt and I both loved it. I’ll definitely make this again when the weather really heats up; it would go well alongside some homemade pasta salad.

3e5d836396b8d70497602fab11c26a43
Pretty!

I hope some busy moms or college students can take advantage of such an easy and delicious recipe.

Happy cooking!

❤ J

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Angel says:

    Thanks for the easy recipe it looks really good! I am always looking for slow cooker recipes I will making this.

    1. lotusgurl says:

      You’re so welcome! I hope you enjoy. Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. Jessica R says:

    Hi. Should I remove skin or leave on?

    1. lotusgurl says:

      Leave it on – that’s where all the flavor is!

  3. Doreen says:

    Hi……my wings were still partially frozen – do you have any idea how much longer I should cook them for??? They are in crockpot now and already smelling great – thanks for recipe.

  4. lotusgurl says:

    If they’re only partially frozen, they should be just fine. Check them after 3 hours; if they’re not falling off the bone, I’d leave them for another hour. I hope you enjoy them!

  5. Shanna says:

    Do you think I could season the drum sticks, freeze them and then cook them on low all day (approx. 8hr) and then add the bbq sauce for 30 mins? Just trying to find a way to make this work so I could put in the crockpot before I leave for work. I’m not the best in the kitchen, so I don’t know what will or will not work.

    1. lotusgurl says:

      I don’t see much of an issue with throwing them in already seasoned and then frozen. However, I’d worry about letting chicken sit in a slow cooker all day. I did that on the fourth of July this year with a different recipe, and the chicken was all dried out–not really edible 😦 I’d make sure to only leave these for the 3 hours, plus the additional 30 minutes. Good luck!

  6. maria says:

    If I make 6 drumsticks do I cut the recipe in half.

  7. lotusgurl says:

    Since I had to double the recipe to make a dozen drumsticks, I’d stick with the measurements given. Hope you like them.

  8. Kerah says:

    Do you just out the drumsticks straight in the crock pot or did you add a little water or something?

  9. lotusgurl says:

    Just throw them in–no water needed!

  10. Carm says:

    This is the second time that I make them for my husband and I. They are REALLY REALLY good! Thank you so much.

    1. lotusgurl says:

      You’re so welcome! I’m delighted that you and hubby love them!

  11. Julia says:

    Thank you for the recipe, I’ve made it a few times now and always do 4 batches at once so I can cook one and put the rest in the freezer pre seasoned for even easier meals later! Personally I put half the cayenne as we don’t like our food very spicy but otherwise it turns out amazing every time 😄

  12. lotusgurl says:

    Awesome idea, Julia! I def need to freeze some next time I make them. Enjoy 🙂

  13. Laura Painter-Bess says:

    I saw this recipe and I am making them for dinner tonight! The seasonings alone smell amazing! I am excited to see how it will turn out!

    1. lotusgurl says:

      I know, the seasoning smells pretty incredible! I hope you enjoyed them, Laura.

  14. Lacy says:

    This was super easy and soo good! I shared with my giflfriends!

    1. lotusgurl says:

      Awesome!

  15. Tara K says:

    I made this chicken using about 18 drumsticks…tripled the spice recipe (cut down the cayenne pepper to our taste and added some smoked paprika) and added an hour of cooking time. O.M.G. so fantastic! I’ll be making this for my family again soon! So tender and fall off the bone not to mention flavorful!

    1. lotusgurl says:

      I’m glad to hear it!

Leave a Reply

